VJForums  

Go Back   VJForums > Technique > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th August 2003, 12:47 AM
4di 4di is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default laptop screen resolution-dell inspiron 8500

Thinking of buying a dell inspiron 8500, and according to info on dell website, screen res. for WUXGA 15.4 is 1920x1200, yet the srn res on the one l want to buy is 1024x768. Did they put out an earlier model with this screen? Even so, the inspiron 8200 I'm using at the moment has a scn res of 1440x1050. My desk box is 1024.768.
Any advice appreciated.

4th Dimension
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th August 2003, 01:10 AM
complexvisuals's Avatar
complexvisuals complexvisuals is offline
Eye Squared
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ireland
Posts: 925
Send a message via MSN to complexvisuals
Default

The 8500 has 3 different screen rezs, it depends on which one you want to pay for

Display Size & Resolution:
15.4" WXGA Ultrasharp: 1280 x 800 @ 16.7 million colours
15.4" WUXGA Ultrasharp: 1920 x 1200 @ 16.7 million colours
15.4" WSXGA+ Ultrasharp: 1680 x 1050 @ 16.7 million colours


The 8500 can't be built with a native 1024x768 screen.

Regards

Cian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th August 2003, 06:52 PM
4di 4di is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Cian,
Can't seem to email you. My service provider decided to change servers over the weekend without informing any of their clients and l still can't send mail on it at the moment, and l am getting returns on your email from my hotmail account!!

Thanks very much for your reply. It backs up info from Dell here too. I guess the guy doesn't know what he is talking about, or they have changed the screens?
It was on ebay, but that one has gone now, although l think they have more.

The other one l saw was on ebay, the guy withdrew it, l contacted him anyway. He got back to me and is in Madrid, wants me to Western Union the money and he'll UPS the machine... He says if l use a fake name (ie a friend), give him the protocol no., he can check that the money has been deposited. Then when l receive the machine, to change the name to his with Western Union and all will be sweet.
Well, that's what he says...l'm really unsure about it, and have to borrow money anyway, but it is such a Sweet Beast of a machine!!!!! Well out of my price range to buy it here..here it would be about $5000!
It's a 2.6ghz, 1 gig ram, 60g hd, GeForce400 card, WUXGA 15.4 screen...
Any advice you could give me would be appreciated. I havn't done dealings of this sort before, and maybe it would be ok, but l'm not kissing money goodbye..

Thanks
Di
4th Dimension
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th August 2003, 07:40 PM
burstingfist's Avatar
burstingfist burstingfist is offline
Manipulator of Light
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4di


The other one l saw was on ebay, the guy withdrew it, l contacted him anyway. He got back to me and is in Madrid, wants me to Western Union the money and he'll UPS the machine... He says if l use a fake name (ie a friend), give him the protocol no., he can check that the money has been deposited. Then when l receive the machine, to change the name to his with Western Union.

THIS IS A SCAM, DO NOT SEND ANY MONEY!!! I have heard of this on a consumer advocate radio show. The Western Union fraud department says not to do this because the people can easily create fake IDs to withdraw the money without sending you a thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th August 2003, 11:31 PM
sleepytom's Avatar
sleepytom sleepytom is offline
<<<< Muppet!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,893
Default

this is a well reported scam
see -
http://www.auctionguild.com/generic.html?pid=65

other things on ebay that are scams....
pd150 http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...&category=3315

(he stole the discription and pictures from this real seller http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...ory=20333&rd=1 )

they are easy to spot - just ask the seller some tech questions about the item - request an actual picture - ask to personally collect the item etc etc
__________________
Putting the cross into crossplatform

www.vjstore.org Free Clips!! AVHire.net Equipment Rental for VJs by VJs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th August 2003, 12:08 AM
sleepytom's Avatar
sleepytom sleepytom is offline
<<<< Muppet!
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,893
Default

and this one is a classic!!

Quote:
from an email to a dodgy scam seller
Hello,

I bought the camera new and it is still under warranty untill expires (04.28.2004). This is a USA production model from Nikon, it is not the european version or anything else. The original box include extras + all cd's software and hardware + all accesories + documentation and USA warranty. I`ll send the camera from Florida with UPS nextday as soon as I will receive the payment. The camera is already packaged and ready to be shipped. I will pay the shipping and insurance cost at UPS overnight. The package will be insured for 700,00 GBP and if something happenes to it I will refund you in full. About the payment I usualy take Pay Pal but I got a chargeback yesterday of about $1600 and I am not using their services again untill that issue gets clarified. Please accept my apologies and send the money via Monegram or Western Union and I will pay the fees. I sort of trust this method and I am confortable with it. Tell me if you are familiar with their procedures.

Have a great day

tom@headspace wrote:

Hi
i'm very intrested in your camcorder can you tell me how much use it has had and where you are located please

many thanks
tom
--------------------


Question from: tomspace
Title of item: Sony DCR VX2000 3CCD camcorder - NR!! VX 2000
Seller: t.o.nono
Starts: 06-Aug-03 07:08:12 BST
Ends: 13-Aug-03 07:08:12 BST
Price: Starts at ?700.00
hes soo confused that he even fails to send me the right scam - nikon don't make the sony vx2000 after all
see his ad http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...tem=2944609994
the location= everywhere is a bit of a give away as is hisuser id t.o.nono - don't buy from people called nono
__________________
Putting the cross into crossplatform

www.vjstore.org Free Clips!! AVHire.net Equipment Rental for VJs by VJs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st August 2003, 08:37 PM
4di 4di is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Hey, Thanks for the feedback guys, much appreciated!
But l am still in a quandry about what sort of laptop to buy with limited budget.

di
4th Dimension
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger